The Renal Pathology Society Young Investigator Award was established to recognize and encourage excellence in the area of renal pathology in accordance with the goals of the Society. The recipients of the award are selected from those nominated based on the contents of abstracts that they have submitted as first author to the annual meeting of the ASN or USCAP. The awards, in the amount of $500 (US), are presented at the ASN and USCAP Meetings.

Candidates must be nominated by a member of the Renal Pathology Society.  The RPS member does not need to be a co-author of the submitted abstract but, if not, he or she should be from the same institution as the nominee.  The research must have been carried out, while the candidate was a trainee (e.g., medical student, resident, fellow, graduate student) and not a faculty member. 

Nominations should be submitted to the Chair of the Nominating and Award Committee.

Winners of the Renal Pathology Society Young Investigators Award

Awarded at the




1995 USCAP

Shane Meehan, M.D.

Expression of TIA-1, a cytoxic I cell protein in renal allograft rejection.

R. B. Colvin

1996 USCAP

Hugh B. Carey, M.D.

Early hypoxia induced loss of Na, K-ATpase polarity in proximal tubules is associated with specific calpain regulated fodrin processing.

M. Kashgarian

1996 ASN

Tsuyoshi Oikawa, M.D.

Modulation of plasminogen activator inhibitor-1 (PAI-1) in vivo:  A new mechanism for the anti-fibrotic effect of renin-angiotensin inhibition.

A. Fogo

1997 USCAP

Jorge Isaac, M.D.

In vitro AL-amyloid formation by human mesangial cells (HMCs) is attenuated by chloroquine

G. Herrera

1997 ASN

Hitendra S. Jethwa

Variable region gene selection in murine anti-myeloperoxidase (MPO) autoantibodies

J.C. Jennette

1998 USCAP

No award given



1999 USCAP

Peter Heeringa

Expression of chemokines in murine crescentic glomerulonephritis

J.C. Jennette

1999 ASN

No award given



2000 USCAP

Li-jun Ma

Regression of glomerulosclerosis in aging by angiotensin II Type 1 receptor antagonist (AIIRA) is linked to inhibition of plasminogen activator inhibitor-1 (PAI-1)

A.      Fogo


2000 ASN

No award given



2001 ASN

Michael Eikmans, Ph.D.

Blunted TGF-beta and ECM mRNA response during early acute rejection predicts for late development of chronic rejection

J. Bruijn

2003 USCAP

Adrian Suarez, M.D.

Altered gene transcript profiles in congenitally obstructed human kidneys. 


H. Liapis

2004 USCAP

Hai-Chun Yang

Absence of integrin avb6 decreases interstitial fibrosis but worsens glomerulosclerosis in remnant kidney mice

A. Fogo


2005 USCAP

Xiubin Liang

Thymosin β4 is a marker or possibly even a contributor to glomerulosclerosis

A. Fogo



The Jacob Churg Award, is presented annually at the USCAP meeting to an individual who has made major contributions to the field of nephropathology.  The monetary component of the award is supported by a fund established by Barnert Hospital where Dr. Churg spent a substantial portion of his career on occasion of his retirement in 1996.  Awardees are nominated by RPS members and selected from the nominations by the RPS Nominations and Awards Committee.  Nominations, which should include a letter from the nominator and a C.V. of the nominee, should be sent to the Chair of this Committee.

The First Jacob Churg Award was presented to J. Charles Jennette, M.D. at the 1997 USCAP Meeting in Orlando, FL

The Second Jacob Churg Award was presented to Robert B. Colvin, M.D. at the 1998 USCAP Meeting in Boston, MA.

The Third  Jacob Churg Award was presented to Agnes Fogo, M.D. at the 1999 USCAP Meeting in San Francisco, CA.

The Fourth Jacob Churg Award was presented to Vivette D’Agati, M.D. at the 2000 USCAP Meeting in New Orleans, LA.

The Fifth Jacob Churg Award was presented to Melvin M. Schwartz, M.D. at the 2001 USCAP Meeting in Atlanta, GA.

The Sixth Jacob Churg Award was presented to Fred Silva, M.D. at the 2002 USCAP Meeting in Chicago, IL. 

The Seventh Jacob Churg Award was presented to Charles Alpers, M.D. at the 2003 USCAP Meeting in Washington, DC.

The Eighth Jacob Churg Award was presented to Michael Kashgarian, M.D. at the 2004 USCAP Meeting in Vancouver, Canada.

The Ninth Jacob Churg Award was presented to Arthur Cohen, M.D. at the 2005 USCAP Meeting in San Antonio, TX. 


Return to Home Page

Last Modified: February 24, 1998 11:25:12 AM